

REMUNERATION TRIBUNAL

Determination 2006/21: Parliamentary Office Holders – Additional Salary

As amended.

Made under sub-sections 7(1), 7(3) and 7(4) of the *Remuneration Tribunal Act* 1973.

Consolidated as at 22 December 2006 and incorporates amending determinations up to and including 2006/23 – Remuneration and Allowances for Holders of Public Office and Members of Parliament.

This Determination governs additional salary for parliamentary office holders.

PART 1 - GENERAL

- **1.1** This Determination is issued pursuant to the *Remuneration Tribunal Act 1973*, sub-section 7(1), and prevails, to the extent of any inconsistency, over Schedule 4 of the *Remuneration and Allowances Act 1990* (as contemplated in section 3(2) of that latter Act).
- **1.2** This Determination takes effect on and from the date of signature. It revokes Determination 2005/17 in full.

PART 2 – ADDITIONAL SALARY AND RELATED MATTERS

- **2.1** For the purposes of this Determination, the basic salary to which reference is made in <u>Table 1</u> shall be the amount from time to time payable pursuant to Clause 1 of Schedule 3 to the *Remuneration and Allowances Act 1990* and Regulation 4 of the *Remuneration and Allowances Regulations 1999*.
- **2.2** A person who holds a parliamentary office shall be paid the additional salary specified in <u>Table 1</u>.
- **2.3** In administering this Determination, authorities shall:
 - (a) calculate additional salary in <u>Table 1</u> by rounding up to the nearest ten dollars; and
 - (b) pay the annual benefits specified in proportion (*pro rata*) to the office holder's period of service during that year.

RATES OF ADDITIONAL SALARY

Effective on and from the date of signature

Office	Additional salary as a percentage of the basic salary
Leader of the Opposition	85.0%
President of the Senate	75.0%
Speaker of the House of Representatives	75.0%
Deputy Leader of the Opposition	57.5%
Leader of the Opposition in the Senate	57.5%
Leader of the Third Party in the House of Representatives	45.0%
Leader of a recognised non-government party of a total of at least 5 members of Parliament, sitting in either House, not otherwise specified	42.5%
Chief Government Whip in the House of Representatives	26.0%
Chief Opposition Whip in the House of Representatives	23.0%
Deputy President and Chair of Committees in the Senate	20.0%
Deputy Speaker in the House of Representatives	20.0%
Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Senate	20.0%
Government Whip in the Senate	20.0%
Opposition Whip in the Senate	18.0%
Second Deputy Speaker in the House of Representatives	13.0%
Government Whip in the House of Representatives	13.0%
Opposition Whip in the House of Representatives	12.0%
Leader of the National Party in the Senate	11.0%
Third Party Whip in the House of Representatives	11.0%
Whip in the Senate of a recognised party of at least 5 members not otherwise specified	9.0%
Government Deputy Whip in the Senate	5.0%
Opposition Deputy Whip in the Senate	5.0%
Whip of the Second Government Party in the Senate	5.0%
Opposition Deputy Whip in the House of Representatives	3.0%
Member of the Speaker's Panel in the House of Representatives	3.0%
Temporary Chairman of Committees in the Senate	3.0%
Third Party Deputy Whip in the House of Representatives	3.0%

Parliamentary Committees

Chair of the Joint Statutory Committee of Public Accounts and Audit	16%
Chair of the Joint Statutory Committee on Public Works	16%
Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade	16%
Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties	16%
Chair of a Joint Statutory Committee or Joint Standing Committee, not otherwise specified (except the Joint Standing Committee on the Parliamentary Library)	11%

Chair of a Senate Legislative and General Purpose Standing Committee	11%
Chair of a House of Representatives General Purpose Standing Committee	11%
Chair of a Joint Select Committee or Select Committee in the Senate or the House of Representatives	11%
Chair of an Investigating Standing Committee established by resolution of either House	11%
Chair of the Senate Standing Committee of Privileges	11%
Chair of the House of Representatives Standing Committee of Privileges	11%
Chair of the Senate Standing Committee on Regulations and Ordinances	11%
Chair of the Senate Standing Committee for the Scrutiny of Bills	11%
Chair of the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Procedure	11%
Deputy Chair of the Joint Statutory Committee on Public Accounts and Audit	8%
Deputy Chair of the Joint Statutory Committee on Public Works	8%
Deputy Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade	8%
Deputy Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties	8%
Deputy Chair of a Joint Statutory Committee or Joint Standing Committee, not otherwise specified (except the Joint Standing Committee on the Parliamentary Library)	5.5%
Deputy Chair of a Senate Legislative and General Purpose Standing Committee	5.5%
Deputy Chair of a House of Representatives General Purpose Standing Committee	5.5%
Deputy Chair of a Joint Select Committee or Select Committee in the Senate or the House of Representatives	5.5%
Deputy Chair of an Investigating Standing Committee established by resolution of either House	5.5%
Deputy Chair of the Senate Standing Committee of Privileges	5.5%
Deputy Chair of the House of Representatives Standing Committee of Privileges	5.5%
Deputy Chair of the Senate Standing Committee on Regulations and Ordinances	5.5%
Deputy Chair of the Senate Standing Committee for the Scrutiny of Bills	5.5%
Deputy Chair of the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Procedure	5.5%
Chair of the Senate Standing Committee of Senators' Interests	3%
Chair of the House of Representatives Committee of Members' Interests	3%
Chair of a Parliamentary Committee concerned with public affairs rather than the domestic affairs of Parliament not otherwise specified	3%

Notes to Remuneration Tribunal Determination 2006/21: Parliamentary Office Holders – Additional Salary

This determination as shown in this compilation is amended as indicated in the tables below. Under the Legislative Instruments Act 2003, which came into force on 1 January 2005, it is a requirement for all non-exempt legislative instruments to be registered on the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments.

Table of Instruments

_ Title	Date of FRLI registration	Date of commencement	Application saving or transitional provisions
2006/21 – Parliamentary Office Holders - Additional Salary	23/10//2006 F2006L03471	17/10/2006	-
2006/23 – Remuneration and Allowances for Holders of Public office and Members of Parliament	11/01/2007 F2007L00074	12/01/2007	-

Table of Amendments

ad. = added or inserted	am. = amended	rs. = repealed and substituted	rep. = repealed
Provision affected	How affected		
Table 1	ad 2006/23		